A Beginner’s Guide to Chakras

A Beginner’s Guide to Chakras
A Beginner’s Guide to Chakras

Attain physical, emotional, & spiritual health with a beginner’s guide to Chakras. Learn how to achieve harmony in your body, mind, and spirit and create balance in your life.

What is a ‘Chakra?’

The word chakra comes from the Sanskrit word ‘wheel.’ The seven chakras are like rechargeable batteries that depend on an invisible energy source that runs through our bodies, from the crown of our heads to the base of our spines. Every day stresses, minor illnesses, and hectic lifestyles tend to create an imbalance in our chakras which then need to be realigned to eliminate illnesses of the body, mind, and spirit.

How do chakras work?

Each chakra is associated with a specific body part and a corresponding organ, providing it with the energy it needs to function properly. Chakras work hand in hand with our endocrine system – a collection of glands in the body that produce hormones that regulate metabolism, growth and development, reproduction, sleep, mood, etc. Each chakra is also interconnected with the other chakras in our bodies. If one chakra is unbalanced or blocked due to excessive physical, emotional, or spiritual stress, it can can affect another, which ultimately disturbs the flow of energy in the body.

Why should chakras be balanced?

Our chakras help balance us physically, emotionally, and mentally. By balancing the chakras we are able to keep the energy flowing freely in our bodies, which is imperative to avoid overworking our endocrine system. A stressed endocrine system results in fluctuating hormone levels or hormonal imbalances in our bodies which can lead to minor ailments or even serious diseases.

The 7 Chakras:

Chakras help maintain a constant balance in our bodies, whether is be physical, emotional, or spiritual. Healing unbalanced chakras helps us find harmony within ourselves and re-balances the body, helping us reach or maintain optimal health. By channeling your chakras you can gain more confidence, happiness, and creativity in daily life.


Chakra 7: The Crown
The Crown Chakra is the highest, most spiritual chakra and represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. It is associated with the central nervous system and the brain. Blockage can result in psychological problems, memory loss, emotional imbalances, and diseases of the central nervous system.

Chakra 6: Third Eye
The Third Eye is the center of our imagination, wisdom and intuition, and represents our ability to think and make decisions. It is associated with the the eyes, nose, and the pituitary gland. Blockage can result in headaches, allergies, sinus infections, and vision problems. 

Chakra 5: Throat
The Throat Chakra corresponds to our ability to self-expression and our ability to communicate. It is associated with the thyroid gland, mouth, teeth, and jaw. Blockage of can cause laryngitis, strep infections, hearing loss, and tooth and gum problems.

Chakra 4: Heart
The Heart Chakra represents our ability to love and helps balance our emotional growth. It is associated with the heart, lungs, chest, shoulders, arms, breasts, and thymus gland. Blockage of the heart chakra can result in heart problems, pain in the upper body, lung problems, and overactive or under active immune system. 

Chakra 3: Solar Plexus
The Solar Plexus Chakra represents our confidence, inner worth, energy, and self-control. It is associated with the stomach, digestive organs, middle back, pancreas, and liver. Blockage can result in diabetes, chronic fatigue, hypertension, digestive disorders, and fibromyalgia.

Chakra 2: Sacral
The Sacral Chakra represents life balance, inner strength, and sustenance and is the foundation of our physical growth and development. It is associated with the colon, bladder, gallbladder, and digestive system. Blockage can result in disorders of the reproductive organs, loss of appetite, lower back pain, knee and foot problems, and menstrual issues. 

Chakra 1: Root
The Root Chakra represents our stable foundation and the feeling of being grounded and safe. It is mainly associated with the adrenal glands, whose function is associated with the ‘fight or flight’ response when we are faced with challenging situations. Blockage can result in weight issues, irritation, eating disorders, and depression.

13 thoughts on “A Beginner’s Guide to Chakras”

    Warning: Use of undefined constant comment - assumed 'comment' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/bitesforfoodies.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/bitesforfoodies/comments.php on line 67

Leave a Reply

You might be interested in these other posts!